RW Previews (North): Leicester Marathon, Nov, 16

A marathon, a half-marathon, pretty villages, a racing circuit...! What else do you want?


Posted: 9 October 2003

Where and when?
Sunday, November, 16, Leicester

What is it?
Now in its third year, the Everards Leicester Marathon is set for an even bigger and better return. Expect a field of around 1000 with competitors running either the half or the full version.

With a half-hour aerobic warm-up courtesy of local fitness instructors and a start at Mallory Park racing circuit, the race will get off to a flyer.

Once you’ve completed a lap of the circuit , the route leaves the Park and travels through the picturesque country lanes and villages of Defford and Markfield. At the seven-mile point, the half-marathon runners peel off and start heading back towards Mallory, with the brave remaining competitors sticking it out for a further 14 heart-busting miles.

As far as terrain goes, it’s the usual undulating test, but with some heights between 90 and 170 metres and three sharp climbs at 12.5, 13.5 and 20.5 miles respectfully. This is certainly not an event for the faint-hearted, with a five hour cut-off point being introduced.

What the organiser says:
“A picturesque course, once again all the proceeds going to the BBC Children in Need appeal." Last year, it raised £9000.

What RW says:
"Known for its excellent marshalling, both events are a test for any athlete."

Watch out for:
The five-hour cut-off point

Any extras?
A free pre- and post-race massage available.

To enter the Marathon:
Click here:

To enter the Half-Marathon:
Click here:


Previous article
RW Previews (Sth): Run London Ragged 10Ks, Oct 25
Next article
RW Previews (South): Fordingbridge 10, October 26

 
TwitterStumbleUponFacebookDiggRedditGoogle


Discuss this article

I have not done a 1/2 marathon in 2 years, for the fear of not running as well as I used to run 1hr 35mins.can any one help me.
Posted: 22/10/2003 at 08:50

it's a risk you have to take!

but surely you don't purely race for time, if you feel you've extracted your best current potential then you can pat yourself on the back... and only then think about increasing that potential for next time.

only recently have my races become more about time... until that point they were about completion & taking part.
Posted: 22/10/2003 at 08:58

Exactly - don't beat yourself up about times - pick a scenic race, enjoy the new scenery and meeting people. Go with a friend of similar standard and have an easy run chatting, enjoying the occasion. It's good to have goals but don't let it rule your running.
Posted: 22/10/2003 at 13:51

As above, run the race for fun and see what time you finish, you might be pleasently surprised, since a knee injury last year my times have been going backwards but I`ve still enjoyed racing even if I am about 10 mins slower for a half marathon.
Posted: 22/10/2003 at 19:47

If you are training you can stand on the start line confident that you are ready for the race

Success is not measured in speed alone


SO: go for it

:o)
Posted: 22/10/2003 at 20:09

Run with me. I'm such a boring conversationalist that you'd have to run faster to get some peace and quiet. My next half mara is Clowne and I should be somewhere inside 1 hr 40. Coming up quite soon.

BO
Posted: 22/10/2003 at 20:25

No offers?
Posted: 23/10/2003 at 01:28

Agree with some of the comments above...i used tu run a lot quicker 3-4 years ago, but injuries now restrict me a huge amount, so i now find it a buzz, just completeting things, is even more of a challenge than it used to be! Its not all about times, there are some very sociable people at the back!
Posted: 23/10/2003 at 09:10

We have to be sociable at the back to combat the boredam of being out twice as long as the front runners!!!
Posted: 23/10/2003 at 10:48

this is true....but i do find it a totally different atmosphere from the front runners to the back markers, and after having reasonable times 3-4 years ago, am going further and further back...so take up these social opportunites more now!
Posted: 23/10/2003 at 11:30

If you don't race because you fear you will be slower than you were a year or two ago all you have to do is take your watch off before the race and leave immediately you finish without leaving a self addressed envelope with 50p in it.

Simple and cheaper too.

BO
Posted: 23/10/2003 at 23:28

How about racing away from home, I like not knowing who my close rivals are so run a more relaxed race.
Posted: 23/10/2003 at 23:32

Or pick one where no one is expected to get a fast time- Baildon Boundary Way for example, it's off road.
Posted: 23/10/2003 at 23:32


Tortoises get to live 200 years.
Posted: 24/10/2003 at 00:22

I suggest running a distance that you haven't tried before. Bingo ! A PB before you start !
Posted: 24/10/2003 at 11:56

THANKYOU ALL FOR THE GOOD ADVICE,I REALLY DO NEED TO SORT THINGS OUT IN MY HEAD AND LOOK FORWARD NOT BACK.
Posted: 27/10/2003 at 13:42

We'd love you to add a comment! Please login or take half a minute to register as a free member

Smart Coach
Free, fully-personalized training plans, designed to suit your racing goals and your lifestyle.