RW Previews (South): The Easy Runner Sodbury Slog

8.5 miles of pure unadulterated country fun along some of Bristol's best countryside


Posted: 25 September 2003

Where and when?
Sunday, November, 9, Bristol

What is it?
Comprising eight heart-stopping, lung-busting and back-breaking 'country' miles, The Easy Runner Sodbury Slog is anything but 'easy'.

Starting with a long road section, the course is run across some of Bristol’s most scenic sites, including a historic Roman encampment. The real work starts once the course goes off-road, with plenty of muddy stretches and some punishing hills on the agenda.

And if you can get over these intact, you’ll then have to tackle the tricky river crossing, followed by further climbs near and around Cotswold Way and the - now open to the course - manor house.

Last year the race attracted nearly 700 runners and you can expect at least that many this year.

What the organisers say:
From a completely impartial stance, “This is the best multi-terrain event in Bristol in by far. If there’s a harder eight miles, we’d like to know.”

What you say:
Mad Kat: “It is very hilly, one of the hills you could only go up in single file and walk, it was that steep. Saying that, I really did enjoy it.” What are you complaining about, then? (More on this forum thread)

What RW says:
“Love the idea of the Tough Guy but can't wait till January? This is your race....”

Watch out for:
Just to increase the sadistic spirit of the race, the organisers have chucked in a few straw-bales and stiles to tackle.

Any extras?
T-Shirt, Spot prizes

How to enter:
Click here:


Previous article
RW Previews (North): Inov-8, October, 12
Next article
RW Previews (North): Great Cumbrian Half, Oct 12

 
TwitterStumbleUponFacebookDiggRedditGoogle

Discuss this article

I've entered this run on the advice of the usually very helpful slocal running shop manager, but now realise I hav e entered a sort of Tough Guy type event. Should be a LAFF, ???

kIM
Posted: 28/09/2003 at 17:01

Just entered on line. Can't wait. Did it last year and still think it's the best fun you can have with your clothes on.

I believe you have a score to settle, MadKat! Be warned though, I've been doing a lot of weights to improve my elbowing power!!

Well done at the Cardiff Marathon BTW. Sorry I couldn't talk more.
Posted: 29/09/2003 at 09:15

Bear??? Is that really you?
Posted: 29/09/2003 at 09:17

'Tis I!

Did I hear you were at the KRUF the other day, young-monkey-me-lad?
Posted: 29/09/2003 at 10:05

Indeedy doody!

I got lost and ended up in deepest, darkest Cymru! EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEK!


Posted: 29/09/2003 at 10:08

...but you lived to tell the tale!

Are you doing the Slog?
Posted: 29/09/2003 at 10:37

Of course... See the "Gauntlet lies at our feet" thread on URWFRC.
Posted: 29/09/2003 at 11:11

yes, T'wil be WONDERFUL!!!
Posted: 29/09/2003 at 11:36

This is one hard and punishing course. Its got everything, water (very cold)hills-lots of, muck and more muck, cow shit, horse shit, narrow pathways, vertical fields, ploughed fields-so bad in fact that your shoes end up like platforms form the 70s!... But hey, its fun,and although the t-shirts were ultra scabby last year I'm coming back for more. This will put hairs on your chest!
Posted: 29/09/2003 at 14:50

No No No No No...

It's a piece of cake!
Posted: 29/09/2003 at 16:24

yes Jon, a piece of cake.. jethro's teeth are relying on that fact..
Posted: 29/09/2003 at 17:14

The sticky mud on shoes bit was good. The platform shoes analogy is good but I felt it was more like running in cast iron snow shoes whilst pulling a small car with the handbreak on!

Ah, the joy of clay!
Posted: 29/09/2003 at 17:29

Oh well if that's what it's going to feel like, I'll be laughing...I run in iron snowshoes pulling an Austin Allegro every Tuesday and Thursday nights. I do take the handbrake off though, maybe time to rethink this?
Posted: 29/09/2003 at 17:32

Don't you dare!
You must wear the outfit too. There's a guy who does it every year in black tie! He looks like he's late for a rural lodge meeting.
Just take your time, Nic. It's a hoot.
Posted: 29/09/2003 at 17:39

t'will bring back memories of muddy afternoons lying at the bottom of a ruck in a muddy puddle with a pile of bodies on top and up to the ears in mud. bring it on!!!!!!
Posted: 29/09/2003 at 17:47

Well thank you very much for cldearing that up guys. I'm feeling confident and raring to go, Ive doubled my medication and got my wellies out. See you there.
Posted: 29/09/2003 at 18:20

Sounds v familiar, FBF.
How the hell I didn't drown I'll never know!
Posted: 29/09/2003 at 18:21

Could be my ability to breathe through my ears?!
Posted: 29/09/2003 at 18:22

Getting middle aged but getting fitter. I've done a couple of GNRs (2002) 2.35 / (2003)2.15. I fancy trying something different to keep me interested ?MT event. Is this one the one for me or too tough- is there a max time limit to finish or is it as long as it takes.
Any advice from fellow plodders
Best Wishes
Posted: 29/09/2003 at 21:26

I feel quite faint.....<swoon>
Posted: 30/09/2003 at 12:47

bear - ah another muff diver I see
Posted: 30/09/2003 at 13:23

We'd love you to add a comment! Please login or take half a minute to register as a free member

Smart Coach
Free, fully-personalized training plans, designed to suit your racing goals and your lifestyle.