Beginners charity race wanted!

begginer seeks advice!

7 messages
12/03/2008 at 12:09

I am a complete beginner when it comes to running – I am very much in the early stages and finding it hard to stay motivated so I thought it might be good to have a goal and run some kind of charity race… Does anyone have an advice on something that I could enter – I live in the Leicestershire area and want something challenging but achievable?

I desperately want to get into running as many of my friends are addicted – yet I am struggling to fit it into my busy schedule and drag myself out of the house. I am of average height and weight for my age and so it really shouldn’t be such a problem. I am a member of a gym and have been trying to run on the treadmill for short spurts about twice a week – however, is it better to run outside?

Any advice would be appreciated!

12/03/2008 at 12:18

I would say definitely better to run outside.

There are the Race for Life events across the country (I wouldn't really call them races), but if you don't fancy a women-only event (and many of us don't), there are a lot of races in the spring and summer, and why limit yourself to a 'charity' race?

Have a look on the events tab at the top - put your location, distance, etc. in, and it will bring up races in your area.

Stump    pirate
12/03/2008 at 12:20

You can collect for charity for any race you do.

My first one was done for Cancer Research. The race had nothing to do with it, we just used the race as an excuse to collect money for the charity.

12/03/2008 at 12:40