Beginners Races

12 messages
12/12/2006 at 14:28
I am relatively new to running but feel that I am now ready to start participating in some 10km+ races. However, I am slightly put off by the seemingly fast fields and competive edges to many of the events I have seen. Can anyone advise me of any ideal 'beginner friendly' races to start off with? Thanks!
12/12/2006 at 14:41
HI there beginner!

In my opinion, most races are competitive, but that still doesnt detract from the fact that they are generally welcoming to all abilities.

Some of the Cancer charity races I seem to think are particulalry welcoming - MAcmillan I think do a number of 10k races around the country (you dont say where you are based).

You could also try joining a local club as these also normally welcome all abilities...my club has a real range of people from returning mums, more mature runners, pretty fast folk and everything in between. They will have details of races and by making friends it will make entering races seem less daunting with other people around!

What sort of time are you expecting for 10k?? The first one I did had a winning time of 33min, and the last place person came in around 90 minutes i think, but everyone was cheered as they crossed the line!
12/12/2006 at 15:03
Hiya Beginner!
As a "bit of a plodder" I've always been scared of smaller events especially when you tunr up and see al of the "racing whippets" lining up in shorts and vests in all weathers.

Bit none of the races I've been in so far have ever been as scary as I first thought and I've not regretted any.

My first race was the Dewsbury 10k which has a nice mixed field and a great out and back course with lovely marshalls and spectators.

Try something local and if possible run the route beforehand to take away any fears?

Enjoy!
12/12/2006 at 15:14
Hello beginner - how long will you be keeping your name :D