Complete Beginner

Im such a beginner I have not started yet :)

7 messages
27/04/2009 at 19:12

Good evening all,

I really want to start running to keep in shape and to lose a little weight and to take part in some races (in the future)

I am a 24yr old Male 5'8 and I weigh 12stone. My aim is to get my weight back down to 10-101/2 stone as this is my ideal weight but I also want to keep in shape and feel fit.

I have a local lake thats about 1 mile long that alot of people use for running and its two minutes from my house so its a big incentive on getting started. I do have a few questions I would like to ask and hopefully I can get some advice from you all

Firstly is there any recommended plans that I can start with? I have been looking at getting a HRM Garmin Forerunner 50 with footpod so I can record how I am running and see what my heart rate is doing (any recommended HRM's for this?). And also one thing that I need to ask is.. If I want to burn fat I heard people talking about you need to be in your fat burning zone for your age as in heart rate.. Can I ask how long I should stay in that fat burning zone for? Or do I just keep in that zone until I feel like I can not do it any longer?

I suppose in a way im asking alot of the basics but all advice and tips would be much appreciated. Really looking forward to hearing from you all

Thank You

27/04/2009 at 19:24

If you are intending to use heart rate based training, you'll really need to know your maximum heart rate, not use a thoeretical maximum.

More importantly than any of that is a decent pair of properly fitted running shoes, get yourself to a decent running shop and have them analyse your gait and recommend a pair of shoes for your specific gait.

27/04/2009 at 19:44

My advice would be to not get involved with all the science and numbers. Just run. That's one thing I would  change about my own running at least.