Drink disposal etiquette

11 messages
08/03/2014 at 15:16

Afternoon All,

I'm a relative newbie to this running lark - started last August and entered a couple of 10k races soon after.  The first one was the Winsford 10k, and water was provided in plastic cups which I noob-ily tried to drink whilst still running.  Didn't do much for my hydration, but on the plus side, my nasal passages got a good flush out!  The bin was only 10m or so away from the table & it got me thinking - if I passed the bin, would I be obliged to carry my empty all the way to the finish?

I've entered the Snowdonia HM next month (yikes) & their website says water is provided in foil top cuplets.  How do these work then?  Is it ok to just drop your rubbish anywhere on the route?  I try to follow the "Leave No Trace" mindset when out running/cycling/dog walking, so just dropping my rubbish goes against the grain!

Hope someone can help!

08/03/2014 at 16:51

I think you'd be ok to drop a cup within a few metres of the bin if you really had to, the marshals will be clearing up afterwards- but why would you? It weighs nothing, just hold onto it to the finish or the next water station. You could tuck it into your waistsband as well. 

those tray things they use in Run Wales events are stupid, the complete antithesis of what you need in a race.

08/03/2014 at 17:03

Another solution would be to calculate exactly how much water you would actually drink during the race using the cups.

You will discover its hardly worth slowing for.

So, what you do is drink all the water on the start line and ignore the drinks stations, except for pouring the contents over your head. That really does cool you down.

In those situations avoid orange juice.

08/03/2014 at 17:16

I usually carry my own water with a bottle belt.