fast mile time?

7 messages
09/08/2012 at 22:49

Hi i'm new to the whole fitness thing. I'm 29 i'm 6 ft tall and weigh 12 stone and never really ran before but I do some cycling. I've been running for around 2 months on a treadmill 3 times a week, as well as weights, rowing and sit ups, and thought i would try a speed test over a mile (i usually run a couple of miles at a moderate pace) and i hit 1 mile in 4:35 ish (the timer went on a few seconds after i stopped) i'm not entirely sure how much easier it is to run on a treadmill than the road but i'm sure i could have gone a bit faster too. As im new my staminas not great yet, i can do 2 miles in just under 12 minutes at my regular pace, is that good? have you got any tips to improve on my stamina? I have definitely caught the running bug and will be migrating out to the great outdoors soon as i have a 20 mile bike trail right at my doorstep.

cougie    pirate
09/08/2012 at 23:31
Blimey that is very good going. Faster than anything I've ever done.
It could be that the treadmill is calibrated slightly fast though ?

You could try doing a local parkrun ? They're free to enter and most areas have them. 9am Saturdays. That would give you a better idea of your standard.

As to getting better - just run a bit more.
09/08/2012 at 23:36

Agree with above - Parkrun would be a good idea. If the treaddy is right - you have started very well, you should be able to do a 5k in 18-19 mins..

10/08/2012 at 08:48

Hi gryle, unfortunately running on the treadmill is alot easier than running on the road, so don't look into it that much. However 4:35 is faster than what most people will ever achieve, I agree with the above, participate in a parkrun.

To improve your stamina, theres no tricks to it, just run more. Small increases in mileage a week will reduce the risk of injury, don't go out too hard too fast.

Good Luck! 

10/08/2012 at 11:54