Good Running Recipe Books

20 messages
01/09/2003 at 14:25
Hi.

Does anybody know of any good recipe books aimed at running fitness. I want to do a marathon but I'm worried that when I build up my mileage I will loose too much weight.

Thank you.

Effie
01/09/2003 at 14:47
Effie,
The Marathoin Chef by Michel Roux jnr is one of the best "Healthy" food books I know. I am a chef in the West End, and use some of the recipies in it for ideas at work. I also use some of them at home for myself. One piont I always make re. cookery books is to use the recipies as an idea only - a basis if you like, but don't be scared to change it to how you like something. The comments and attitude towards running and nutrition are supportive as well.

Any other chefs out there who fancy getting together and doing a "runners" recipie of the day?

Anyone out there who would like to see it?
02/09/2003 at 21:01
The idea of a runners cook book is a great idea. It could be sold in aid of a charity or something..
02/09/2003 at 21:44
Yeah good idea i,m not a bad cook but can only cook a few pasta recipies and they tend to get a bit repeatative.And i,m feed up with baked spuds and beans.Runners world should have a recipe page each month.
02/09/2003 at 22:31
Oh please no! RW tries to write about everything but running as it is! A couple of issues ago there were a few pages dedicated to large pictures of potatoes with fillings.

Articles on nutrition fine but not more space fillers.
02/09/2003 at 22:58
ohplease YES
i love food
come on you chefs
05/09/2003 at 07:22
I agree with the majority here. More food please. It's hard trying to find things to cook that I can feed to the wife and daughter as a normal evening meal but that's also good for me.

I like the idea of a runners cook book that could be sold for charity too.
05/09/2003 at 09:41
Thanks Robin for the reply. I shall be off out shopping this weekend for The Marathon Chef.