Hiya!!!

1 to 20 of 92 messages
16/09/2005 at 23:39
Hello!

Im new to this malarkey but have quickly go the bug!

Single mum with a 6 month ol - never ever run in my life (in fact probably scoffed when someone jogged past 8))

now on a treadmill in the gym as i can book my son into the creche for 2 hours) and really enjoying it!!!!

can run/walk for 20 mins and do this three times a week.

two questions really:
ive bought a pair of £20 asics trainers (very basic) and the bloke in the shop said theyd do for treadmill running ... is this right?
i sometimes do the great outdoors but im restricted due to the baba. bless.
overweight- will running help do you think? i feel better already!

nice to meet you all anyway hope to hear from you soon :)
16/09/2005 at 23:47
Hi Jessica

Well done on starting!

Yup running will help with the weight and also feeling good.

Remember not all runs will be good. Some will be right stinkers. But just go out there and do the next run and it should be better.

Please remember to do some stretching after your run. If you are not sure what, just look in the grey health tab on this site. Then possibly search on stretching.

As for your trainers, go to a proper running shop, they will advise.

Good luck with your continued running. And keep the forum updated as to how you are getting along.

I won't ask if you got the bug for running or this forum as they both can be addictive. :-)
16/09/2005 at 23:51
thanks for your message!!

it looks great on this site!
my bug came firstly from getting my first "sweat on" (is there a technical term for this? lol)

ive been doing some stretching after m warm up and not so much afterwards. must do this. i usually go and do a few weights after my run but will do some stretching straight afterwards!

thanks again! its a real change of life for me and im loving it!

16/09/2005 at 23:58