Is my treadmill going to be a waste

9 messages
30/04/2006 at 22:06
Hello guys n gals *waves*
I'm new to this world of running and have read a few posts and well I have a question.
In feb this year, my hubby bought us a treadmill, and I had a few goes on it, all I did was walk on it. Anyway, { bare with me } every year I watch the London marathon and always wonder if I could do that. Anyway, last Sunday after watching the marathon again, I felt the sudden urge to get up off my butt and get on my tready and start running. And run I did, for a whole mile would you believe. I did a speed of 5 mph, which for me was brilliant. Anyway, every day till yesterday, I jumped on the tready and did my mile run, resulting in 7 miles in 7 days.
However, after reading the various do's and don'ts of how to go about this running thing, today I decided to run at 5mph doing the alternate, walk for 5 mins/runs for 5 mins. Now I have been thinking that perhaps running on tready is easier than running in the great outdoors, am I right in thinking that I would be better running outside instead? I hope not in a way, cos tready cost a lot of money and it would be a great shame if I weren't to use it anymore.
Btw, would it be too early for me to do a fun run, the one at the Humber bridge in June?

I'm 45 btw lol
30/04/2006 at 22:28
It's a different animal running outside. Your footfall will be harder, the resistance from the wind is different, the surface is uneven, hills are not the same as they're not even. Even the changes in level as you run along a normal street are noticeable;

Drop kerbs.
Uneven paths.
Dodging dog do.
Running over manhole covers.
Avoiding trip you up paving slabs.

Your treadmill isn't wasted, it's got you started and will have a place for certain types of training but running outside is (and this is a personal thing) much more enjoyable.
Blisters    pirate
30/04/2006 at 22:41
Lilsy
Enjoy your tready, and think of the positives.