New to running and the forum

19 messages
01/03/2010 at 11:21
Hi

I am a newbie. Just about to get back into running, started about 3 months ago but started all wrong, have spent the last month reading about training etc and am off for my first run in 10 minutes. Looking forward to getting into shape. Am using old trainers as suggested in one of the articles but if all goes well will get some nice new ones at the end of the month.

I am really excited to get to the point where you can just run and think about other things not thinking about how you are running and when to stop etc, I know its a long way off but still its exciting. Main reason for wanting to run is boredom of gym going and wanting to find a fun way to get fit and get out and about and maybe in the summer run a 5k charity run.

Sorry for going on and on just pretty excited.

Just looking for some advice really and to hear from people who have been here and got to where I wanna go so I know its possible, jsut seems so far away at the minute.

Thanks
Dean
01/03/2010 at 13:50

What do you want to know???  You haven't actually asked any questions in your post...

I started running as a way to improve my fitness/stamina for a black belt grading in kickboxing, I got the belt and ditched both the kickboxing (long story) and running (I found it too hard).  I had another attempt at the running after signing up for a Race For Life... but once I'd done the race I let the running slide as there wasnt a reason to do it... Then the following year (2008), I decided I'd do the RFL again and I'd sign up for a 10k later in the year to keep me motivated... It worked, I haven't side-lined the running since and I'm currently training for my 1st marathon in May.  If I can do it, anyone can.

01/03/2010 at 13:57
Thats great Caz.

Sorry you're right I didn't ask any questions. First thing I'd like to know is what should I record in my 'running diary'??

Thanks

Dean
01/03/2010 at 14:27