outdoor running

1 to 20 of 22 messages
20/05/2009 at 11:01

Hi,

I have been running on and off on a treadmill for about 6 months. Can manage about 10k on the treadmill so thought I'd be fine doing that outside...which I was not!!! I am now trying to build up my outdoor running, I am doing 2 miles eveyday which is taking me about 25 mins. Slow I know. Just wondering how you think I might build up from this? I was thinking that when I am comfortable(ish) doing that distance I will add on a mile. Does that sound about right?

Thanks

20/05/2009 at 11:08
I wouldn't suggest you run everyday, if you are aiming to get to 10km outside, I'd suggest using a 10km race training plan, that will have the required distance increases.
20/05/2009 at 12:53

Emily - I too am doing just TM workouts at the mo. Have been going for a month or so and am reasonably happy doing around 5k (albeit v.slowly).  I am building up to do an "outdoor" run one day soon, probably an early morning one.

I appreciate that when people start outside they tend to go too fast, as it is rather different than a TM, so I have planned to do just a 2m circuit around my town when I try it, to see how it goes.

Like danowat I suggest that every day is too much. At the mo I do Mon/Wed/Fri but I try to increase a little every time if I feel up to it. If I don't think I am going to make the full distance, I usually put in sections of slightly faster pace (just a couple of minutes every so often), which I think builds the legs up a bit more.

20/05/2009 at 12:58

Good lord - six miles on a dreadmill

Danowat is right - have days off.  Add a bit at a time, rather than lumping on whole miles, and slow down.  You're used to the tready, and it gives you a bit of 'help' - outside you;ll probably find that speed too fast to maintain.

Once you get used to the ups and downs, wind, other road users, kerbs, etc., of outdoor running you won't want to go back to the treadmill.

LIVERBIRD    pirate
20/05/2009 at 13:18