Overweight beginner

1 to 20 of 76 messages
28/04/2003 at 21:24
Hi - I'm Sally and I have just joined RW. I am a total beginner and did my first run today - 2 mins running, 2 mins walking but I only managed this twice! I am overweight but dieting and I cycle to work every day which takes me a hour in total.
Any advice would be most appreciated as I have said I will run the 5K in July for my local slimming club (if I'm still alive!) Thanks
28/04/2003 at 21:29
Hi Sally, welcome to the rather addictive world of the RW forum!

Just take it nice and steady, that's what my advice would be (for what its worth). Why don't you check out some of the training schedules on the site? Also the penguin's site (I think its www.waddleon.com???) is good as is the Plodders thread on beginners. Very encouraging.

Good luck with the training & weight loss, and keep us posted with your news
28/04/2003 at 21:31
hiya sally! well done on your first run. I didn't even manage to run at all the first time I went out (about a year ago). I was entering Race 4 life, with a friend. We just went really slowly, walking where we had to, two or three times a week. Enjoy it, don't punish yourself! there are loads of us out there ( i could do with getting rid of a stone) who all think we should run faster or longer or something. if you keep going, you WILL get there!
28/04/2003 at 21:33
Hi Sally,

I too have just joined RW and am an almost total beginner. My first run, 8 weeks ago, was 20 minutes of run 3 minutes, walk 1 minute, which felt pretty tough. But I've gradually built up what I do, running 3 or 4 times a week and now I can run comfortably at a reasonable pace for 40+ minutes, and I've started doing some interval and hill training. I'm doing a 5K at the end of June. Advice - keep it up, stick to a schedule and don't try to progress too fast, wear decent shoes, get a running partner if you can cos it is a great motivator. You'll do the 5K no problem!
28/04/2003 at 22:12