Running clubs in Tamworth area

17 messages
17/11/2002 at 17:47
Does anyone know of a running club in the Tamworth, Staffs area that would welcome a knackered old woman with dreams of being Paula Radcliffe, but who in all reality would be no threat to Rik Waller?

Alternatively, are there any non-competitive female runners looking for a running partner in this area?

Thanks.
18/11/2002 at 16:41
I'll boing this for you since I was born and dragged up in Tamworth for the first 20 years of my life.
08/01/2003 at 16:22
boing
08/01/2003 at 16:32
I'm in North Birmingham, Dreamer2, and wouldn't mind coming out to Tamworth for some (slow) training runs.

As for clubs, the Royal Sutton Running Club would be worth a try - they have a very friendly veterans' section.

Cheers, V-rap.
08/01/2003 at 16:40
You dont want to risk slow runs in Tamworth V-rap, trust me, I'm not a doctor. Fast as you can love!
08/01/2003 at 16:47
If the natives of Tamworth are as lardy as the rest of the population of the West Midlands, my slowness will not matter. All things are relative.

Anyway, I don't wear jewellery or carry a mobile phone. But I shall file my elbows to a point and eat a plateful of sprouts before setting off.

Why not come and be our bodyguard, Chimp?
08/01/2003 at 18:30
To be honest, the natives of Tamworth are more than likely to be so wasted on drug/alcohol cocktails that they won't even notice a few runners passing by. Be warned though, the sober ones have wheels (although they spend most of their time falling off the halfpipe in the Arena carpark)...
08/01/2003 at 19:04
If you fancy venturing as far as B'ham, Birchfield Harriers has a good all rounders section, for men and women. But, I'm pretty Tamworth has a road running club or even track club of their own, will have to investigate.
08/01/2003 at 19:04