Running Etiquette

6 messages
MR
09/10/2002 at 15:08
I am a beginner and I am training for the London Marathon. Most of my running is done in and around Tooting Bec Common where I often come into contact with other runners - I'm running one way, they're running the other way and we pass eachother. I would like to say "Hi" to these people as we pass but, as a beginner, I am shy and not sure of the etiquette so I just look at them, waiting for them to say "Hi" to me but they never do. Is this normal and am I wrong to want to say "Hi" as I meet other runners ? Wouldn't that be nice ? I have found pedestrians on Tooting Bec Common to be very polite, however, kindly moving out of the way and smiling etc.

Michael Rodgers.
09/10/2002 at 15:16
Hi michael, I am beginnerish, 5 months, and I allways say Hi/Good morning, and 99% of time I get one back, friendly lot runners.
So say Hi......

Gaz........
09/10/2002 at 15:46
Anything from a nice clear "Hi" and a smile to a grunt and a half hearted attempt to lift your hand is fine (if you can only raise a grunt don't worry they'll understand).

No point trying to engage them in conversation or crack jokes it'll only out you & them off and anyway you'll have passed before you get to the end.

Coming back from a long run last Saturday I was working hard up the final hill to my house when a neighbour said "Good morning, that's looking impressive etc", all I could manage was a very limp way and a grunt - I felt the need to find them later in the day to apologise (not sure why).

Hope you continue to find that runners really are a friendly (if slightly mad) group.
09/10/2002 at 16:20