Tooting-Based Clubs

11 messages
MR
09/10/2002 at 16:37
Could there be any clubs (catering for beginners) in and around Tooting ? I did hear of something called "Tooting RC" from an internet search site but there wasn't a website for them and I couldn't find them in the Yellow Pages. Perhaps a club which uses/is based at Tooting Bec Athletics track which is walking distance from my home.

I am training for the marathon and, especially for longer runs (which I haven't done yet - 6 miles is the longest so far) I think company would help. I don't mind if people are SLIGHTLY better than me as I wouldn't mind falling behind a LITTLE if the people I am running with are OK with that. But I AM a beginner and so I am not very fast, etc.

If anyone can help I would much appreciate it.
09/10/2002 at 17:03
Herne Hill Harriers are based at Tooting Bec Track. They may be a bit serious for you but their website says they cater for all standards.
09/10/2002 at 19:31
Tooting leisure centre are going to start a non competitive running club in a couple of weeks time and it sounds pretty good! Also, Wimbledon Windmilers, and I believe there is also a Tooting RC, although I can't be sure! Want to go for a trot sometime? I live in Tooting B/way. The tooting RC no. may be in the club section of Running Fitness if I'm right!

Email my if interested btw
09/10/2002 at 19:48
Sutton Runners aren't that far away - Rosehill, and have a wide range of levels from 33 min 10k to complete beginners, plus they're a friendly lot. Okay - I'm biased, it's my club!

http://www.suttonrunners.cwc.net/
09/10/2002 at 22:23
The only details I can find for Tooting RC are:

R. Rockcliffe, 32 Scholars Road, London SW12 0PG
10/10/2002 at 15:22
I ran into (and along with) the Sutton Runners slow sunday run a few weekends ago. Seemed like a very friendly club.

Millipede
10/10/2002 at 16:17