Total Newb Seeks Advice!!

7 messages
24/07/2006 at 14:29
Hi all - I'm hoping you can give me some advice, as I really am starting from complete scratch and I desperately need some help...

I'm overweight, and under-exercised. I haven't ran since school (89'), and not been to a gym for a couple of years, and even then just paid it lip service to be honest. A few things happened to me this past week and I've just thought "enough is enough". I need to get fit and sort my lifestyle out, as its shocking. Tales of takeaways and beer that I wont go into...clothes don't fit, "friends" have sly digs, I cant seem to do anything that requires the remotest of effort without feeling out of breath, can't get my arse out of bed in the mornings, get tired walking up stairs, the list is endless. I need to get into shape...

So I guess the first thing is admiting I have a problem - well there you have it - typing open-forum is just about as public as you get. OK I hid my name, but I'm ashamed - need to sort myself out before I'm that brave!! But I do admit I have a problem.

I dont really know where to start, and I like running, but I want to build up to that first - so I've been out and bought myself some exercise gear. Bought a magnetic bike, bought a rowing machine, and bought some weights. I figured no takeaways/beer for a few weeks and that'll pay for them anyway...trouble is, I'm clueless as to what to do really. I guess I'd like to build up to decent enjoyable running, but I should work on some of the flab first maybe?

My stats are <shudders>;

Male (yes its a crap name I chose!)
6'6"
33.3yrs
20st 7Lbs
46" waist
(do you need anything else?)

Thanks for listening...any/all advice very welcome!

24/07/2006 at 14:41
Hi Tank Girl (?)

You don't have to slim down before you start running. Try one of the run walk schedules on here - click on the 'training' tab at the top and have a look at the 30 minutes in 8 weeks schedule.