Treadmill to roads?

1 to 20 of 28 messages
05/03/2013 at 10:21

Good morning,

I'm very new at this after having done anything NOT to run for the last 30 odd years, I have now been doing the coach to 5k on a treadmill and am up to week 6.  A friend has asked me to join them on a 3 mile fun run in two weeks and  I wondered if anyone could tell me if it is do-able to change from a treadmill to the roads and what difficulties I am likely to encounter and what to do, to make it easier?

Many thanks in advance.

Sara

05/03/2013 at 10:26

People will always bang on about how its so much harder on a road, the treadmill does all the work for you etc, as though you were sitting in some kind of lounge chair by using a treadmill.

To me the positives and negatives almost offset each other, and I find a neglible difference between the two.

Yes their is an element of the treadmill doing the work for you to some extent, but that is offset by the fact that its often hotter where you are running meaning your body has to work harder to cool itself as opposed to running outside. Also if you run for a while, youre running in the same spot on a treadmill so youre constantly breathing in the air youve just exhaled to some extent, whereas outside, because youre always moving forward youre getting fresh lungful of air each time.

Ive found the time I can do on a treadmill = the time I can do outside.

05/03/2013 at 10:31

Thanks David that makes me feel better, someone panicked me by saying it was much harder and would kill my legs after a mile.

I'm going to try my first outdoor one on Friday round holme pierrepont where its nice and flat and see how I go!

05/03/2013 at 10:35