Virgin runner

1 to 20 of 29 messages
13/10/2002 at 20:50
Hi All,

I am extremely new to the joys of running having done my first R/W this morning. I ran 5 (just) and walked for about 10. I plan to do this 4 times a week increasing a bit each week. I have always harboured a desire to be a runner but previous attempts have involved jogging to exhaustion and then never being able to face it again! Hope to keep it up this time as I felt OK today. This site is really motivational and it's great to see that not every other person on the roads is a natural.
13/10/2002 at 21:44
Good on you.
14/10/2002 at 00:45
Keep running deeplydippy, I only started running in March. First time I went out I managed to run for five minutes before I had to walk. I just kept going, getting further and further until eventually I could run a respectable distance without walking.

Last week I competed in my first race, the GNR, 13.1 miles, and I ran all the way.

14/10/2002 at 06:20
Ditto to above. Walk/run/walk/run...that's how I started. Still a beginner, and I don't think anyone is really a nutural runner. It takes work but it's so liberating.
14/10/2002 at 08:28
You can do it Dippy!
14/10/2002 at 13:54
keep at it! I started running in June and yesterday I ran for a whole hour; covered 9K so felt real sense of achievement
14/10/2002 at 15:00
Hi Dippy - it's how I started too, although I didn't manage 5 mins first time out! So you're doing well already. Keep up the good work...
14/10/2002 at 20:41
Dippy, - Know how you feel, stopped smoking last Xmas and took up running. Started the same format as you run/walk now up to 10 miles in one go, never thought I would get there!
The Evil Pixie    pirate
14/10/2002 at 20:45
Welcome and well done ... my first session was 8 sets of 1min walk 1 min jog/stagger/run