women only running clubs

10 messages
kag
30/10/2003 at 16:54
I am new to running and looking for a womens only running group in the solihul area,as I find it difficult to motivate myself at the moment. I am looking for a begginners group who are happy to accept an overweight plodder! Can anyone help? Thanks
31/10/2003 at 18:52
why do you need a woman only club???????? there would be hassle if i requested a men only club
31/10/2003 at 21:32
Have you tried The Women's Running Network? They may have a local group, their website would be the first place to look. Or alternatively Running Sisters do the same sort of thing.
04/11/2003 at 16:50
whereabouts are you?

in surrey there are the epsom allsorts, if you see Murf, Tiger or Lindihopper around then they are all members of the Allsorts.

by the way the oddballs are a men only club, xt350!

I run for the epsom harriers, who have a group that I train with that happen to be just women-Im sure there are loads of mixed clubs like that
04/11/2003 at 17:07
sigh

no there wouldn't, xt

04/11/2003 at 17:31
Personally I like running with a few fit blokes.... ;-)
05/11/2003 at 00:03
For those that want them - why do you want a women only running club? Is it because of the behaviour of men at running clubs you have tried ? I know at least one woman that left her running club because of just that reason.

05/11/2003 at 08:16
I run with a mixed group..the blokes are great..of course they think they are gods gift to running..but as long as you don't mind that you'll have a great laugh...
Just joking lads
05/11/2003 at 13:43