Has anyone ever been in jail

why is is not a deterrent

1 to 20 of 21 messages
15/04/2013 at 14:24

i have been in prison but not as an inmate. I worked in two: once as a labourer, building an extra wing on a prison and the second time as a drama worker. doing drama workshops with the prisoners. I know at least two of those who took part have gone on to be full-time actors. some others keep in touch.

I also work as a Children's Panel member and have also been in several secure units. They are comfortable but bleak. The real thing I took away from these places was my admiration for many of the employees. They were stars.

15/04/2013 at 14:24

My oh spent some time inside (months).  Visiting was fecking awful, really, really creepy.... The solidity of the doors is just ick... When they close it's a very final thud....

He's not been back.... make what you will of that.

15/04/2013 at 16:58

I'm awaiting the first person to mention colour televisions and hotels...

Rafiki    pirate
15/04/2013 at 17:34

yep..... but never in this country

15/04/2013 at 18:58

I, personally, am a supporter of offering prisoners a humane experience in prison. I have seen the benefit of investing in creative and vocational programmes to help those without education or opportunity and there is a degree of evidence that it reduces re-offending.

howeverrrrrr, I am aware that there isn't a bottomless pit of money, and it is difficult to justify that position when a prisoner's meal costs double that which we offer to our children in schools, and law-abiding citizens are shelling out to pay for courses etc that prisoners get for free.

And, it is even MORE difficult to justify that position to someone whose granny has been mugged, or car stolen, or worse.

Prison rarely does anybody any good, but I do concede that the general public must be able to feel that society is willing to punish those who have acted criminally against them.

15/04/2013 at 19:03