How accurate do you think history is?

1 to 20 of 53 messages
kittenkat    pirate
12/10/2012 at 06:22

And where do you think we've got it really wrong?

12/10/2012 at 06:58

Its accurate until Hollywood makes a film about it. Ignoring it.

12/10/2012 at 07:27

This is what you think about at 06:22?

12/10/2012 at 07:35
RicF wrote (see)

Its accurate until Hollywood makes a film about it. Ignoring it.

Completely agree with this (think: Saving Private Ryan).

When I studied history at Uni and throughout this time - I learnt some valuable lessons:

- History has been written by the victors throughout history. You'll never find a level headed history of the battle of the roses, agincourt. Anything before the French Revolution isn't really "reliable" but at least it's a written history.

- It's been those who can 'afford' to tell their history for where it'll be remembered. An example of this was the Holocaust. For several reasons the persecution of Gypsies, Homosexuals, Political Prisoners is almost omitted from every 'new' telling of history (e.g. films).

To an extent we need museums/people to keep the 'recent' history alive and correct but it'll be hard as there's no money there.

12/10/2012 at 08:33
The Germans really won WW2 and just changed the brand to the Common Market/EU. They are about to annexe Greece, Italy and Spain but we might draw the line if they have a go at Poland.
12/10/2012 at 09:51

+1 for ex-History Students on here. Most important thing for me is Oral History.  Getting the stories/anecdotes recorded before those that were there are no longer here.

"Where do you think we got it really wrong?" - sad to say, but the whole Middle East shebang is actually our fault

12/10/2012 at 09:54