Real jobs

how many of us have them?

1 to 20 of 88 messages
10/09/2002 at 14:10
Somewhat contentious thread title - but I was wondering how many regular forumites work from home, or are freelance, and so can more easily spend time on the forum? I work in an open plan office, with my computer facing my boss's boss's office, so can only join in at lunch time, or quickly first thing.

How do you manage to hide this addiction to talking about ironing, sweets etc from other people at work??
10/09/2002 at 14:29
Urm... Gotta job, don't do it though... Does that count?
OB
10/09/2002 at 14:40
I am the boss!! Anyway, as some of my work has connections with marathon running and some forum members would indirectly be clients of mine even if they don't know it, I can justify the time spent here as valuable research. Phew, do you think I got away with it?
10/09/2002 at 14:53
As an employee benefits consultant I spend a considerable time researching companies and meeting up with HR directors/managers. When I am in the office I usually have 4 or 5 windows running at the same time and simply switch between windows when someone's passing. Having a laptop also makes it easier as I can position it so that no one else can see. Dead easy really. I'm typing this and talking to the boss at the same time!
iron fraggle    pirate
10/09/2002 at 14:56
I too am the boss! I work from home as a domestic engineer, and we have broadband, so I'm permanently connected to the outside world. I just have to check in every now and then if I get time to.
10/09/2002 at 15:00
I've got all bases covered - freelance, work from home, own boss and employ others (but they all work in an office a long, long way away from me!)
10/09/2002 at 15:14
I own an 0906 telephone chat line at £1.50 p.m., employing 150 women slaves chained to their mouthpieces, on a disused oil platform in the middle of the North Sea.

No distractions then from tetchy bosses.

10/09/2002 at 15:19