shoelaces

turns out I've been tying them wrong

14 messages
15/03/2013 at 13:19

Interesting webpage on tying shoelaces. There are 2 ways to do it - a "granny knot" (wrong) or a "reef knot" (right).

I've been doing it wrong for 25+ years! I've been trying my shoelaces with a double knot to stop them coming undone, all I needed to do was tie the first knot properly instead.

I think I'll wait a few days before I look up how you're really meant to tie a tie, the shock might be too much.

15/03/2013 at 13:34

There's a world record for tying shoelaces. (14 in one minute) 

From open laces to a tied bow, undo and repeat. 

I did 17 out of curiosity.

My life is full of thrills.

15/03/2013 at 14:00

Tom, I wouldn't worry, I do about 10knots in my trainers pre race, such is my paranoia about them coming undone.

Which they have done on a couple of cross country races, which was a little hairy, but just about ok.

Losing the bottom half of my shoe ina  race once was more of a worry!

Rafiki    pirate
15/03/2013 at 15:18

elastic laces - simples!

15/03/2013 at 15:31

Sandals!

16/03/2013 at 14:58

Went to the gym last night. Tied my laces. Turns out I've been tying granny knots for 30 years! I tied the other one the correct way. Made little difference to my gym session (then then I do double knot by laces so they never come undone anyway!). The properly tied one did look better!

16/03/2013 at 17:25

I tie my laces in a multitude of different ways - the knots and bows, they still all come undone. 
I have tried a variety of lock laces or elastic laces, they all have their problems, it's mainly because I have such strange shaped feet.
I hadn't realised before but I've been looking at other peoples feet in the shower after swimming and I do declare that my feet are the strangest shape I've seen.

16/03/2013 at 17:28

Tuck the loose ends of laces under the rest.

Its the bouncing about that undoes the knots.

16/03/2013 at 17:34