Bath Half 2013

1 to 20 of 45 messages
16/07/2012 at 14:10
OMG !!!! what am I thinking of just signed to do the Bath Half next year 2013. must be the fact I've turned 40 this year and need a challenge. This will be my first ever half marathon. I have been running for 3 years but the longest I run each week at the moment 8 miles so still need to gather distance. I do run 4 times a week the other 3 runs average 3-5 miles. Just hope I can build upon distance and speed because I would like to complete it in 2hrs really but feel that my lack of speed will let me down. I just don't seem able to get any better than 10-11 min miles. Any tips would be welcomed.
16/07/2012 at 14:19
If you can do 8 miles regularly then I'm sure you will be able to build up to half marathon before then.

If I were you I would try to build up your longer run by a mile every 2/3 weeks and also add a speed session instead of one of your other runs, there are some good training plans on this site but generally only 12 weeks from your race date.

No reason why you can't start now though
16/07/2012 at 17:36

Oh for goodness sakes, now look what you did....I entered it by accident while I was checking out the website

You have a good sound base to build on and no reason at all not to achieve your target in the time you have

16/07/2012 at 18:42
Are they no longer doing priority entry for people who entered the previous year?
16/07/2012 at 20:27
We offered discounted 'Early Bird' entries immediately after this year's race instead of priority entries
16/07/2012 at 21:34
Ah ok . Thanks for letting us know
17/07/2012 at 15:18

I've entered - a bit on a whim really, as I haven't visited Bath for a few years and this seemed like a good reason to go.  Quite excited really - although that may wear off when I'm training in the dark over winter......

17/07/2012 at 15:29
Have any if you done the bath half before
17/07/2012 at 16:32