Brighton Marathon 2013

Can't wait for this one!

2,661 to 2,680 of 4,397 messages
07/03/2013 at 06:39

GCE - I have been running since 2008 but before last April when I signed up for this years Marathon to keep Snowmaiden company (mine and Toby3's daughter who had always said she would complete Marathon in 2013) I had never ran further than a 10K and that very slowly in over an hour and a half. 

Now almost 11 months down the line I find I am enjoying running and love the thrill of seeing the finish line and trying my hardest to get there quick enough to beat my previous time. 

Tillstar - I would say yes to recommending running a marathon as the focus that the training has given me and the confidence that comes with knowing I can run further than I have before has definitely given me a more positive outlook on life.  Hopefully I will still be able to say the same when I cross the finish line in 38 days time.

07/03/2013 at 07:40
Thank you poohbear (and everyone else) for your great answers. You have made me determined to do this one in 2014 and I have booked the day off work on the Friday to sign up at the exbo. I hope I enjoy it just as much as you guys seem to have done. I know I have said it before but this forum is great I really hope you all have a fantastic marathon :0)
07/03/2013 at 08:01

Tillstar id say yes to doing a marathon too i did the first 3 brighton marathons again after saying id only do 1....the sense of pride and achievment is immense the only thing i will say is dont under estimate the time it takes for training its 3 months of putting yourself first ......you really do have to have an understanding family and friends.....and i do have understanding children (teenagers) and they have put up with late dinners and not going out for last 3 winters and so for this reason i decided to have a winter off training for the first time in 3 years so im not running this year.... but im still hoping to go down to brighton to cheer everyone on...