Yorkshire 3 Peaks Race 2012

footwear & training advice

6 messages
12/03/2012 at 13:16

Hi all,

signed up for the Yorkshire 3 Peak's race in April but not sure what shoes to wear. I walked the route a few times but its been a couple of years since I last did it and not sure what footwear would be best. From memory it has a mix of all sorts from steep grassy sections to trails, paths and a bit of road.

If anybody has done this race before can you suggest whether studded fell shoes would be best or whether agressive trail shoes would be a better option?

Can anybody help with training advice too as I am fairly new to this type of event - I have completed a medium and long fell run already but this is a much longer (and hillier) prospect. I have put together a training program buts its just something I have adapted from a traditional marathon training program to incorperate off-road work and hill sessions but I would appreciate any structured training programs (or advice on the level of milage and type of terrain/hill work).

Its getting close now and starting to get a bit nervous!

12/03/2012 at 17:24
Have a look at the race website http://www.threepeaksrace.org.uk/index.html for a starter. If you click on the "Course" link in the list on the left, it takes you to some useful information, including a route card with splits for the various checkpoints.

There will also be information/discussion etc. on the FRA forum
http://forum.fellrunner.org.uk/showthread.php?13258-Three-Peaks-Fell-Race/page321 - you're more likely to get answers/advice there than on what is mainly a road running forum.

Don't underestimate the challenging nature of this race, especially the timed cut-offs at Ribblehead and the Hill Inn - I help marshal at the Hill Inn, so I'm speaking from experience. Don't just think about the training, think about your hydration and eating plans as well and try them out beforehand.
12/03/2012 at 18:25