bumbag for ultramarathon

Help me find a bumbag for an ultramarathon!

12 messages
13/02/2013 at 12:24

Hello,

Im going to do my first ultra soon, its 40 miles and has aid stations but I need to take along gels, spare socks, a water bottle...maybe a map...you get the idea! The problem is I just don't like running with a back pack, Im quite small and they never fit, my next step is to try a bumbag, can anyone recommend one that isn't too bulky, has a water bottle and doesn't move around? I have never used one before.

Thanks for your help in advance!

Becca

13/02/2013 at 12:26

inov-8 race elite 3. On sale at Pete Bland at the moment.

13/02/2013 at 12:38

Thanks, I heard someone talking about that...they said it was really unbalanced on the hips....?

13/02/2013 at 12:48

if you want a small backpack with a womens fit - Deuter speedcross 10? - very small, very light

13/02/2013 at 14:49

I've read some good reviews of Flip Belt http://www.flipbelt.com/the-flipbelt/ 

I haven't tried it for myself yet but do have one on order so will let you know!

13/02/2013 at 18:23
How about a nice runner's rucksack instead of a fanny bag. Far more fashionable.
13/02/2013 at 21:21

OMM Ultra Pack - good waist belt. I had one for ages, but I found the bottle cage tore with a full bottle in it after relatively short time. Other than that, it was stunningly good. Now got a £12 one from Northern Runner - no bottle holder, but you can get a holder that will go on the belt - that's what I've done when I needed it.

Saying which, running my first ultra in June, planning on using an OMM Last Drop, my home-to-work pack, think it will fit quite small (though I'm tall and broad, so I can't really check myself).

13/02/2013 at 21:23

Rebecca , try the Nathan backpack, its designed for female shoulder width. im very small and i love the Nathan vest.

14/02/2013 at 12:21