Broadband Suppliers

Who do you use?

16 messages
24/08/2003 at 12:29
Hi All

I move house soon and I've decided it's time I got broadband so I can dedicate my life to the forums that little bit more!

So I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to who is good and who isn't. I know that some providers can slow to little better than a modem at times so I'd rather avoid this if possible. I work in IT so I'd rather use on that doesn't block sharing the connection for a laptop (I think AOL is very hard to share).

Incidentally, I know there was a thread on this before Christmas so I apologise for repetition but with no search facility I can't find it.

Any advice would be greatfully received.

PPB.
24/08/2003 at 12:38
I use Tiscali. Service has been a bit slow recently, but that might have been due to these damned worms clogging up the Net.

Only been with them for a month, and chose them on the strength of a good sign-up deal. Fairly happy so far.

I think they allow sharing - best to check the website.

HTH!
24/08/2003 at 12:45
I've been with aol on and off ('cos I get curious about other isp's) for years, and always come back to aol. Now got broadband and very happy with it. If ever help is needed, their telephone and online help desks (although usually if I need help it's 'cos I can't get on line!) are excellent.

But I know that lots of people moan about them so..........
24/08/2003 at 12:55
Who? Me?

:o)
24/08/2003 at 13:56
whats the best value broadband supplier now - NTL seels very competitive - they keep advertising a 15ish connection here but its not available to me - so any others coming down below 20 a month yet ?
24/08/2003 at 13:59
Tiscali do one for £19.99, but it's 256 doobiewhatsits, not the full-speed 512. So 5 times faster than dialup instead of 10.
WildWill    pirate
24/08/2003 at 14:01
I'm with BT - expensive but reliable

Pipex are worth a look
24/08/2003 at 14:29
Done NTL
Not bad
Now Telewest
VV good
24/08/2003 at 14:32
am with plusnet