calorie count

how many calories should i be eating if i run 20miles a day

1 to 20 of 30 messages
12/07/2010 at 18:26

Hi everyone! Apologies if i do not put this in the right place/forum as it's my first time.

Background info is i've lost nearly 6 stone through running and until the last 6months i haven't watched my diet but i have now. Thing is i'm running on average 20 miles a day (i know it's become obsessive) and my psychologist is trying to keep me eating over 2000 calories but i like margin for error as i love chocolate and everything that's bad for me! Ideally i'd like to lose another stone to take me to 8 stone but i fear i've plateaued and the weightloss is very slow now despite the exertion of 20miles daily which is, as you can imagine frustrating! Could someone give me some advice as to how much i should eat in order to speed up my weightloss and continue to run like i am?

Thanks in advance. It's probably important to know that i have an acute eating disorder (hence the psychologist) so my fear of putting weight on is extreme so hopefully i won't be trying anything that might enhance my weight AT ALL.

12/07/2010 at 18:32

Jordana,

Thanks for being honest about your ED.  I think you know that if you are running 140 miles per week it is unlikely that you would need to restrict your calorific intake.  No-one on here can comment on whether 8 stone is a sensible target weight for you or not (I say this in light of your extreme fear of gaining weight).  You may not need to lose weight at all.  I hope that in addition to a psychologist you have been referred to a nutritionist.  They will be able to give you the specific advice tailored to your own background which you need.

M...eldy    pirate
12/07/2010 at 18:33
Jordana I am no expert on eating disorders and whilst it is pretty good to be running 20 miles a day I would think this is part of the problem and not the solution
Does your psychologist know that you do this?