cramp half marathon

cramp, diabetic type 1, low body fat

1 message
07/04/2013 at 08:20

hi,

I'm new here. I recently finished my first ever half-marathon. The problem I'm having during the marathon and training is calf cramp. To start off, I'm have to give a brief details about my self. I'm new to long distance running, previously I've only joined 5-12km running events. I decided to join the half-marathon for a new challenge. 

I'm a type 1 diabetic for about 11 years. Means that I have to take insulin injection for every meal I'm taking; breakfast, lunch and dinner. my blood sugar glucose readings throughout the year have been amazing and under control. other sports activities i'm doing are football and weight training. Prior to my half-marathon training I've checked my body weight, which inclued BMI,  body fat, etc:

mass distribution

body cell index 59%

extracellular mass 38%

lean body mass 97%

fat mass 3%

BMI 21.8

basal metabolic rate 1691 cals

water compartments

intracellular water 72.6%

extracellular water 27.4%

tbw/lean body mass 76.1%

i provided the details just to show what can be analysed for my case. been taking protein shake in order just to increase my body fats to avoid muscle burn. can't really take too much food as it could hype up my blood sugar level. been training for the half marathon throughout 2 months doing short run, interval run, tempo run, long distance once a week. everytime i'm on long distance run eaither i maintained my pace or started to increase my pace i kept getting cramp. often resulted with salt literally coming out of my skin. mind you, while doing the long run i kept myself with enough fuel; carbs, gu gel, and water. i figured out myself run out of salt in my body doing long run. i started to use rehydration salt (mixed with water) which normally used for diarrhea, stomach problem. haven't tried it for a long run, but it works really well during my 7k tempo run.