Help - Outdoor running

1 to 20 of 30 messages
04/05/2010 at 15:49

Hi. I've been running for a few months now. I started off in the gym and a few weeks ago, as the weather becomes "warmer", started running outside. The problem I have is that I can run consistently and well on a treadmill for up to 30mins but now during my outdoor runs I find myself having to stop/slow to a walk a few times during the run. All I'm looking for is to be able to run for 30-45 mins non-stop at a speed of about 11kph. What's really bugging me is that I can cycle and walk miles outdoors without hinderance but I just can't get my running down. I understand now why so many people give up after a few weeks - not that I'm going to.

Probably a good idea to let you know how often I go running. Currently I run 3 times a week (between 2-3miles) with a day inbetween. I also go to the gym 3 times for resistance training. On 2 of the days I run I also go cycling anywhere between 10-20miles and I do core training 3 times a week with the resistance work. So basically I'm exercising 6 times a week alternating between cardio and weights e.g. Mon-cardio, tue-weights etc.

So does anyone have any hints, tips, suggestions, drills, training programmes that may help me punch through this problem....

Any and all suggestions welcome. Thanks

Pete

04/05/2010 at 16:03
Hi Pete - it takes more energy to run outdoors as you are dealing with differing terrain and wind etc.  Don't worry, the only way to get better at running outdoors is by running outdoors and it is very different to running indoors.  Slow right down and if you feel you have to take a walk break don't beat yourself up about it.  You will get there - take it easy - remember there is more impact to your joints outside as well so don't go mad!  There really is no magic formuler that will get you used to this it is just gentle persistance!
04/05/2010 at 16:08