Interview Questions

best and worst / any pointers?

1 to 20 of 22 messages
w
26/05/2004 at 14:47
Hi all.

I am about to start interviewing for someone to work for me and its my first time (awww). Does anyone have any good or bad questions that they have asked or been asked in the past or any general pointers for me?

Contributions gratefully received!
26/05/2004 at 14:52
presumably you have a job spec...
presumably they've provided a cv/letter that implies they fulfill this job spec...

ask questions that show they have the right skills (as per the spec) and have used them effectively. i.e. what do you think about.... what would you do if... can you think of an example where you....

etc.

just a few thoughts.. maybe totally inappropriate as most of my stuff is technically based.
26/05/2004 at 14:53
errrm, if you have a website they should at least have looked at it, they should know why they are applying for the job, what they can offer you, and what you can offer them (training wise etc). those are the basics i prepare before interviews.

Ask them what they imagine the job would entail day to day/ month to month, in case they are wildly wrong about what you will expect from them.
26/05/2004 at 14:55
One of my old bosses used to ask

"when you look at yourself naked in the mirror what do you see"

He annoyed when someone said "a sex god who is out of you league" annd then got up and walked out.

Don't ask this question. You would be an idiot if you did.
26/05/2004 at 14:56
If they person you are interviewing has the right skills the only question to ask yourself is would you go for a drink with this person after work, ask about their hobbies and interests. Also decide what type of person you want to work with, someone who chats and socializes all day or whatever.
26/05/2004 at 15:01
"Where do you see yourself in five years"...

...like, don't ask it!
26/05/2004 at 15:10
W,

Couple of pointers from me for what its worth.