London marathon - club places

9 messages
24/09/2012 at 11:39

Hi all - firstly apologies if this topic has been raised recently.

I've been checking for our club on a weekly basis now for three or four months on the Virgin site and the message has gone from 'Check back at the end of May' to 'May' then 'June' etc etc and now it states:

For the 2013 event the entry system for clubs will be going online.

We are in the process of developing this system, so please do keep checking the website for further details.

Has anyone else got anymore info so I can ward off our eager club members?

Regards

UFO
24/09/2012 at 14:15

Club secretaries were emailed with an update last week. Online applications start 15/10.

UFO
24/09/2012 at 20:20

Thank you!!

19/08/2013 at 14:50

Thought I'd drag up an old thread rather than start a new one on this...

According to VLM website, club entries open at the end of August. Any idea what's involved in this. I'm part of a new running club who have been affliated less than a year so I'm wondering if we qualify. Do you have to have a certain amount of members to qualify for even 1 place. We have about 30 members so I'm guessing we either don't qualify at all or we have 1 place at best. Really hoping we get one as there's only me and a couple of others that applied in the ballot so could be looking at a 1 in 3 chance or better if I don't get in through ballot... again.

Also, would be interested to know if your part of a running club, what criterea they normally use to allocate places. After a quick google search I seen one club who had a massive list but am I right in thinking most just go for 'you have to have entered ballot and not been succesful to be considered for club place' and then it's just names out of hat.

19/08/2013 at 21:04