Marathon Recommendations

Other Marathon's apart from London

18 messages
03/11/2008 at 14:08

I have been running for about 16 months now - started with a Cancer Research 10k last September and have just completed the GNR and Birmingham Half Marathon (2hrs 23min for GNR and 2hrs 1min for Brum).

After the GNR the thought of doing a full marathon was the furthest thing from my mind, but after the Birmingham race I am beginning to get the itch to do the 26.2 miles.

Do forum members have a particular marathon they would recommend ? London would be fantastic but 2009 is gone and I can't wait with my fingers crossed for future years.

Any UK race or mainland Europe would be considered.

Please be honest with pro's and con's

Many thanks

03/11/2008 at 14:30
everyone will have different favourites - what will be pros for one person may well be cons for others (e.g. on road versus off road)

at the end of the day, if you want to run a marathon, then choose one that appeals and train for it........they're all the same distance, the only thing that varies is the course.....
03/11/2008 at 14:39

well I dont have much experience having only ever run one marathon but I'd recommend that one... It was the Nottingham one (mid September) and my experience was that it was well organised, clear set up at the start (ie dropping off kit etc), good communication at the end and clearly marked along the way.

There was quite a nice variety of locations too - some city, some rural, some main road, some parks .... What else? Plenty of drink stops too...

I suppose it's common sense but one of the things I consider is where it is and how easy the weekend will be as well. I.e. it could be the best marathon in the world but if it takes you hours and hours to drive to Nottingham then it might be too much hassle!

03/11/2008 at 14:41