'Mature' runners.

Older runners meet here.

162,201 to 162,220 of 166,609 messages
30/12/2012 at 15:52

Matsmum, well done getting out running and enjoying it! Running should be enjoyable, and if I didn't enjoy it, I wouldn't still be running. I have been running for about 35 years now, and still get the same pleasure from it as when I first started.

Red, I can't run or race on an empty stomach. I need some food inside me to give enough energy to keep me going. I have recently read a book about Charlie Spedding entitled "From Last to First," and he only had a slice of toast and a small glass of water before his marathons. That was in the days before sports drinks and gels etc.

The rain hasn't reached here yet, and I ran an easy pace 8 miles on road this morning. Those 5 days non running certainly seem to have been beneficial, as I was cruising at sub 9.30 pace, with an average of 9.25. A few weeks ago, I would be working hard to achieve that.

30/12/2012 at 16:19

Hello and welcome, Matsmum. You won't be getting any advice from me on running a marathon, 'cos I've never run one. Have run two half-marathons, and at the end of each I wondered how on earth people can go on and do the same amount again.

That's very very sad about your son. We see our children arrive; we don't expect to see them leave ahead of us. You say you have a large family, - how many sons and daughters have you?

As far as posh daughters and untidy sons are concerned, I think the inclinations of the husband / wife (if any) have also to be considered. I think my elder daughter takes after me in being not particularly tidy, and it is her husband who ensures that the house is looking spick-and-span.  

I came home from London with a niggly sore throat. It can't seem to decide whether it's going to turn into something or not. I went for a short run yesterday and really didn't feel good, so today prescribed for myself an afternoon on the settee with a large glass of wine.