'Mature' runners.

Older runners meet here.

162,541 to 162,560 of 167,193 messages
16/02/2013 at 21:14

Hello and welcome 00 50.

I started running 11 years ago and am now in my late 60s. Can't run at any speed but have done a couple of half-marathons and a few shorter races. 

JJ - grand-daughter all day and then straight to a meeting with no dinner?? - That sounds Bad.

8.87 miles this afternoon at an incredibly slow speed, - I bet Matsmum's mountain run was faster. I blame the lack of caffeine in the bloodstream.

16/02/2013 at 21:15

All good wishes to TE - I look forward to hearing all about it.

16/02/2013 at 23:15

I see we have some spritely old folks on here . I have been running for 25 years or so and expect my legs to be giving up on me some tome soon.

Matsmum, I know Murcia. My wife did a month of teacher training there and we made a family visit. I didn't get to run unfortunately.

Well I'm also racing tomorrow in the build up for the London Marathon which I'll do in April. It the Buttermere Round, a small race from Keswick for enthusiasts of hills. It's 34K and includes the Honister Pass. Not for the faint hearted   

Edited: 16/02/2013 at 23:17
17/02/2013 at 07:10

Thanks everyone for your best wishes, and I'll do my best not to let you down. It's 3 degrees at the moment, with a top temperature of 9 degrees forecast. The car is covered in frost, so I will be "defrosting it" in good time before we set off. We have been meticulous in our training, not missing a club session, or planned training runs. We can do no more now, than to enjoy the race, and finish in good condition.

00 50 good luck with your race, and we look forward to your race report.

17/02/2013 at 14:39

Afternoon all,

Thanks for all your support.  The circle of life continues and Josh (Fran's eldest) has just announced that his girlfriend Emma will be having a baby in August so Levine will be a granddad