My Last Run

Post details of your last run and what you think of it

15,201 to 15,220 of 17,754 messages
06/04/2013 at 16:49

Park run this morning, 18 40 time.  Did it in shorts and vest which was a mistake, legs were cold for the firts mile after which hands frooze.

06/04/2013 at 21:49

Broke in my Mizuno Wave Harriers tonight with a couple of miles round the coastal park.  Seem fine.

Off rd HM, Baildon Boundary Way nr Bradford tomorrow.  Hopelessly undertrained...

07/04/2013 at 08:49

Well, after struggling like billy-o in the high winds on Wednesday and Thursday last week - when my usual 6 mile route felt more like 12 - I got out yesterday (Saturday) and made the most of the adorable sunshine.

Infact, it felt so good I decided to have a foray into speed intervals, something I've never done before.  Wow!  What a wake-up call!

I'm pretty sure what I did was somewhat gentle compared to the more experienced runners on here, but it was really good fun to try something different, add a bit of variety to my run, and feel thoroughly worked out when I got home.

Infact I completed my run in a shorter time than usual, so decided to tack on a bit extra at the end just to make it up to an hour.  And I reckon I would have stayed out even longer had I not needed to - ahem - answer the call of nature!!

07/04/2013 at 09:25
18 miles along a stretch of my local canal that I'd never ran along before. Done at a fairly steady pace it took me 2hrs 45mins, which I was a bit disappointed with initially, but my mental arithmetic reckons that this should put me on track for my target 3hrs 45min for my first marathon (4 weeks today. Gulp).

For 6 miles of the run the towpath was soft earth that had been torn up by tractor tyres, leaving it covered in 4 inch deep zigzags. It was the worst surface to run on that I've ever come across. Much more unstable than regular soft mud, and I was worried about twisting my ankle again, having only just recovered from the last time.