New runner and vibrams

Advice needed for new runner wearing barefoot vibrams

1 to 20 of 60 messages
06/05/2010 at 22:03

Hi all,

need to pick your brains, my friend is starting out running and really wants to run in the barefoot Vibrams, her aim is to run a marathon next year and is starting out in the vibrams.

any advice/tips gratefully appreciated, I have offered to help her train but I have no experience of barefoot running. I have already been told that she needs to slow down and keep the run splits short to give the calf muscles a chance to strengthen and get used to forefoot striking.  any other helpful advice?

thanks

cougie    pirate
06/05/2010 at 22:09
Definitely keep to short stuff. If it was me I'd get used to walking in them first and then run only on grass for a good while.
I'm not convinced though - barefoot may be fine for running on soil - but not tarmac and concrete - that's why my shoes are padded.
06/05/2010 at 22:24
Agree with Cougie.
Manmade surfaces need manmade shoes.
If running barefoot, or equivalent, running should be on natural, soft surfaces.
06/05/2010 at 22:42

Ginger here's a thread all about VFFs

Contrary to popular opinion some folks do run barefoot on tarmac - without injury... Barefoot Ken Bob is one. The barefoot brigade's more taken off in the US than here.

VFFs are showing up at marathons more now which is nice. I'm an ambassador for the monkey feet; i work, run and play in mine

cougie    pirate
06/05/2010 at 22:44
I don't doubt that some people can run barefoot on concrete - but the average runner ? Maybe I'm too hefty for them ?
06/05/2010 at 22:49

I have to say the idea of them isn't for me, but then I have a double spinal injury and other problems resulting from that.  The thought of pounding pavement for hours on end without half a tonne of cushioning isn't for me, but my friend is really keen to try these and obviously wants to make sure she starts out properly.

06/05/2010 at 22:59