SENSIBLE question on minimal shoes - NO TROLLS PLEASE!

I really just one to ask one question without starting a flame war

1 to 20 of 31 messages
16/03/2013 at 17:03

I have been running for about 2 years now (background is fairly competitive cycling) and so far (fingers-crossed) no injuries, pains, etc.  Until last month, it was unstructured - just going out when I felt like it, making up my route, distance, speed as I felt.

I have seen some New Balance 101 minimal trail shoes for £20 and thought that they are cheap enough to 'have a go'.  So, I don't 'need' to fix any problems - I just thought it's a cheap introduction.

QUESTION: Am i going to benefit from this at all?  Is there any other advantage to minimal shoes other than injury-prevention?  Is it more fun, or faster, or better for the environment?

And please don't turn this into another thread like the last one.   Thanks!

kittenkat    pirate
16/03/2013 at 17:10

Do you like chicken?

16/03/2013 at 17:14

Er, yes.  Why?

kittenkat    pirate
16/03/2013 at 17:24

I just like to know.

Also, any running shoe for £20 isn't going to be any good, minimal or not?

Edited: 16/03/2013 at 17:25
16/03/2013 at 17:28

It is reduced from £50-60 in a sale.

http://www.sportsshoes.com/product/NEW699D/new-balance-mte101-(d)-trail-running-shoes/

It' this one (but not from there).

Do you like chicken?

kittenkat    pirate
16/03/2013 at 17:30

They're not really minimal though, just lightweight?

My like/dislike of chicken depends on the packaging.

16/03/2013 at 17:52

As KK says, it's not strictly 'barefoot', but it may have less cushioning than what you're runnning in now, so take it easy before you get used to it.