Sports Personality of the Year 2012

Who's your money on?

1 to 20 of 25 messages
27/11/2012 at 08:29

So the shortlist was announced last night, who do you think will win? Such a hard decision, everyone has done so well but for me it's a tie between Jess Ennis and Mo Farah.

27/11/2012 at 09:20

Team GB should be the winners as a whole (except of course the footballers) -

From the list Mo Farah, followed by Jess and Bradley Wiggins -

Big surprise that there was no place for Alistair (?) Brownlee but then Greg Rutherfood was excluded too.

Oh well can't please everyone.

My abiding memory of the sports personality award was in (I think) 1980 when Daley Thomson dressed in anorak and jeans in contrast to the dickey bows the other blokes were wearing started his speech - I feel I right sh*t

27/11/2012 at 09:50

I think you've hit the nail on the head there Grendel3 with your prediciton. You're right though, can't please everyone. There is an award for best team right? Team GB all the way!! Can't actually remember if I've ever watched the awards before, really looking forward to it!

27/11/2012 at 10:01

Wiggo for me. Not only did he win Olympic gold, but Tour de France as well.

So refreshing to celebrate sports other than football this year, I'll be watching with interest!

27/11/2012 at 11:49

They all deserve it this year!  But British people do occasionally win a gold or two.... every 4 years.  British people win top golf tournaments quite often.

So, for me, by a nose, it's either Murray or Wiggo - who both did something EXTRAORDINARY this year.   Both got Olympic Gold....  and both made history...    Wiggo as the first British winner of the TdF... after about 100 attempts.   Murray the first British man to win a Grand Slam in 76 years....  a gap of presumably about 280 tournaments.

27/11/2012 at 13:05

wiggins - farah - murray , in that order

27/11/2012 at 13:40

Agree with Dustin  -although 2&3 could swap..

Tommygun2    pirate
27/11/2012 at 13:41

I used to like SPOTY but now can't be bothered with it. The BBC doen't do live sport any more excepting this year and the olympics but its normally just 1 tennis tournment 1 golf tournement a bit of Rugby/Rugby Leage and some snooker.

oh and 1 Marathon and 1 Haf Marthon.

Every thing else is shown on other channels. SKY and Eurosport should host awards as they show the most live sport these days.

Anyhoo my top three would be 1st Wiggins,2nd Mo and3rd Murry

27/11/2012 at 13:44

Wiggo should win this hands down one of the greatest sporting achievements this country has ever had and couple that with a gold medal just over 10 days later  I cant see anyone more worthy.

But saying that its down to the people who vote so we shall see.

27/11/2012 at 13:48

At least there isn't a darts player a horse jockey or car driver on here (although Eric Bristow could win Celebrity.

27/11/2012 at 14:03

It's you, the viewer at home, that counts. I wonder what the masses feel? Wiggo, Jess Ennis, Mo or Murray would all work for me

27/11/2012 at 15:05

Wiggo will skoosh it. Then Mo, Murray, Ennis.

27/11/2012 at 20:43

Bradley Wiggins, Mo Farah then Jessica Ennis

Team GB should get the team award and David Rushida the overseas award.

seren nos    pirate
27/11/2012 at 20:47

the Gb horse riding team will get the team award....................otherwise the GB team is too big.especially if you consider that the GB paralympic team did amazingly well...........which one did best...........

27/11/2012 at 21:06
birkmyre wrote (see)

Bradley Wiggins, Mo Farah then Jessica Ennis

Team GB should get the team award and David Rushida the overseas award.

I agree with birkmyre, but think Usain Bolt will get overseas award.

27/11/2012 at 21:10

Wiggo for me.  nice sideburns.

Sort of surprised not to see Victoria Pendleton (isn't she the only British woman to get gold at two successive olympics?) or Laura Trott on the list though.

28/11/2012 at 13:08

As long as Mo is in the top 3 I don't mind. Wigo probably deserves it overall though.

I feel the shorlist has gone too PC this year after last years debacle. Which (in my opinion) is why some missed out.

Will be a smidge dissapointed if Murray is in the top 3. Well done to him but there are just sooo many more deserving folks in the list this time. They should do a top 4 just to reflect the brilliant year.



cougie    pirate
28/11/2012 at 13:20
Wiggins all the way for me. Farah second. Ennis third.
28/11/2012 at 14:11
Steve Rand 7 wrote (see)

I feel the shorlist has gone too PC this year after last years debacle. Which (in my opinion) is why some missed out.


to be fair to the SPOTY selectors though, they've had an abundance of riches to select from this year compared to 2011 where frankly, the choices were limited (females or no females).   I don't think the choice is too PC - it seems pretty balanced overall irrespective of the relative merits of some of those who didn't get selected (Brownlee, Trott etc).

whoever wins - and it will be close - it will be deserved, and any of the top 5 will have deserved to win - just so much competition this year.

28/11/2012 at 14:21

If Mo doesn't win the vote on this forum, he's not got much chance overall! Murray splits the housewives vote as he's not nice enough- I think it has to be Wiggo.

Isn't there a coach of the year too? Dave Brailsford should walk (/ride) that one.

1 to 20 of 25 messages
Previously bookmarked threads are now visible in "Followed Threads". You can also manage notifications on these threads from the "Forum Settings" section of your profile settings page to prevent being sent an email when a reply is made.
Forum Jump  

RW Forums