Treadmills Upstairs

advice on setting up treadmill

1 to 20 of 21 messages
22/11/2005 at 16:38
Hi, I'm a beginner and I have just purchased a Carl Lewis MOT25 treadmill(it seems OK but I'd like to hear any opinions on it). I live in a 4 bedroom semi-detached relatively new build which seems to have a good structure. I have the treadmill upstairs in a good size bedroom but have heard scare stories from people but have had no real concrete advice.
-Is it ok to have this upstairs?
-Does it affect the structure/beams?
-What kind of mat would you recommend to reduce noise?
Any advice would be appreciated.
thanks.
The Evil Pixie    pirate
22/11/2005 at 16:47
I would expect that after some time you may get cracks in the ceiling of the room below due to the "bounce"
I have my tready in the garage (can't image having to carry it upstairs!)
22/11/2005 at 19:20
I have my tready upstairs, and it's a heavy one too (100kg). I have got it straddling, lengthways, a brick dividing wall though. If I was you I'd try and position it as close to a downstairs wall as possible, better still - on top of one. I haven't had any cracks in the ceiling and it's been there for 2 years now.
22/11/2005 at 21:08
I have mine upstairs in a 2 year old house. Not had any problems with cracks in kitchen ceiling below, but noise is a bit irratating for anyone in the room below.

I have the treadie on a non-slip mat, on carpet....heavens only knows what the thud-thud-thud would be like without it!

I'm in a detached house....so noise travelling next door is not an issue. Suspect it could be in a semi though.

How heavy is the treadmill? It was a bl**dy nightmare getting mine up the stairs.....
22/11/2005 at 21:27
Had mine upstairs for 18 months now, no problems so far.....apart from lugging it up the stairs, shall NOT be doing that again!
22/11/2005 at 22:52
Put it wherever you like................ then go outside and run in the freash air :-)
LOK
22/11/2005 at 23:22