Yoga

Does it help?

1 to 20 of 45 messages
11/08/2003 at 10:20
Does any one else use yoga as part of their running/fitness regime?

I am relatively new to running and it has been suggested that doing yoga aswell as my 3miles may help muscle tone and suppleness...

Can anyone shed some light on this for me?

Cheers
11/08/2003 at 10:28
Hi Mel.

I've been doing yoga for about 12 years and it is excellent for posture, suppleness and general well being, none of which can harm your running.

Just wish I had time to do more of it, just once a week at the moment.
11/08/2003 at 10:37
I work shifts and would find it almost impossible to attend classes regularly, would doing it at home to a video be as much benefit?

11/08/2003 at 10:44
i started using a home Vid - and found it did make a difference to my suppleness -ot in my case stiffness

there are loads out there - i got a freebie with a mag - Barbara Currie - who is a long time teacher but an acquired taste - but she is a very english version

some have american gurus on them - who are a bit difficult to take to - all depends on preference - if you do a search at Amazon there are loads with user reviews - or try your local library/video shop and try a few till you find one that works for you

most peeps reccomend going to a class as well if you can just to get some correct instruction and feedback so maybe find a class you can dip in and out of and use the videos

happy stretching !
11/08/2003 at 11:04
Cheers for your help peeps... I will endeavour to find a decent yoga video - and like you said Bune I will try and attend a few classes as I am sure I will need correcting!!

Cheers again x
11/08/2003 at 11:08
I've done it for about six years and love it. Richard's said it all really so I won't add to that.