Abdominal Pain In Women Runners

10 messages
01/12/2007 at 21:10
I am a personal trainer who also has experience of severe abdominal pain when running at a high intensity.  Many of my female clients also suffer from stomach pain after running.  I was once hospitalised for a week whilst investigations took place after running a fast paced 5k in hot conditions.  It was thought that my severe abdominal pain was due to appendicitis however this was ruled out after investigations took place including a barium enema.  I am none the wiser about why this occurred but still have 'twinges' if I do a challenging run and have learnt it is best to back off running hard when these occur. I believe that this problem is probably linked to the time of ovuation as this is when pain is most likely to occur.  I would like to find out more about this problem if only to be able to advise my clients on the issue rather than just empathise with them.
01/12/2007 at 23:22

Sounds nasty, and that is just the barium enema. Have you had kids ?
02/12/2007 at 09:16
I don't have any answers, but just finished reading Kelly Holmes' autobiog where she mentions this as something that  blighted her career for many years
02/01/2008 at 23:27

Hi Julie

I to am having severe abdominal pains.  GP can not find cause, had a baby 10 months ago and find it near on impossible to train.  GP states there is no reason for this and its just my bodys responce for not being able to exercise for 18 months due to being pregnant.  Linkie to my thread  http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/forum/forummessages.asp?dt=4&UTN=117384&V=6&SP=

Wish i could help

02/01/2008 at 23:36

What's your diet like?

Anything starchy or yeasty can react in the gut to cuase gas.

03/01/2008 at 18:35

Hi Julie,