Calories

Lossing the flab!

6 messages
21/01/2009 at 14:10

Hello all,

I have been running for around 3 years now. I have trained for many different events and distances however one thing still baffles me..... Calorie count and loosing weight.

I used to be around 21 Stone and have lost that nicely over 5 years. I am now around 12 1/2 stone however i still have a layer of fat around my middle that will not shift.

I need to understand my calories and what my consumation should be. I believe my BMR is around 1900 calories per day. So without exercise if I took on 1400 calories per day I would loose 1lb fat each week. - I get that.... however.... what if on 4 of the 7 days I do a run thats over an hour (using over 1000 Calories each run) then that day is something like BMR = 1900 - 1000 Run = 900 Calories... surely thats too much of a deficit and the body will store the fat and enter hunger mode?

Can someone advise on this because its driving me mad!

Thanks - Nathan

21/01/2009 at 14:18
No, it's 1900 - 500 + 1000 = 2400 calories to eat on a day you do a 1000 calorie run
21/01/2009 at 14:28
yes, if you eat 500 calories less a day you should roughly lose 1 lb a week.  if you aim to take in 1400 calories a day through which to do that then on the days you run you'll only be taking on board 400 calories and therefore will lose weight at a quicker rate.  just eat 1000 extra calories on the days that you run to maintain your current rate of weight loss.
21/01/2009 at 15:06

ok thats both great answers. It was the one I was edging toward but I ddint want to over eat, get it wrong and put on weight.

Thanks for your advice .

21/01/2009 at 15:07

As a side issue, do you know what the starvation mode is of the body? I understood that if you had a defecit of over 1000 calories then your body actually panics and stores fat. Is that true or do you just loose more weight?

21/01/2009 at 16:10