Dr Atkins Diet

Can a Runner do a low carb diet

1 to 20 of 79 messages
26/06/2003 at 16:18
I have been interested in the DR atkins diet as I eat many sandwiches potatoes with all meals etc. etc.

Can a runner who does 35 miles a week be on a low carb diet?
WildWill    pirate
26/06/2003 at 16:30
NO

And its dangerouse

FAD DIETS dont work
26/06/2003 at 16:34
Here Here
26/06/2003 at 16:37
How the hell could any runner, serious or not, think that restricting carbs is a good idea. Hell you'd want to increase them!!
26/06/2003 at 16:45
I agree,
But Ive been running for seven years and i am allways 16 stone. Therefore I eat to much. Believe me I would love to stock up on carbs but if I could loose 36 pounds. Look how my speed could increase.

Some runners buy energy bars, I bet if i took an average runner and strapped 32 pounds to his back he would soon be wishing to get rid off it.
26/06/2003 at 16:47
do you want to lose some weight colin ? have a good look at your diet and see how many empty calories you are taking in - the butter on the baked potatoes, mayonnaise and dressings on sandwiches, sugary and fatty treats - if you cut down on some of these things it might make a difference without needing to cut down drastically on carbs which are your main fuel source

and weight loss of more than 1-2 pounds a week isnt really healthy or sustainable in the long term

most people who have success with Atkins (as would anyone who follows a highly restrictive diet) find thay put the weight back on when they return to previous diet (which also indicates they havent learned much about healthy eating whilst on Atkins!) and people who stay with it longterm are at risk of kidney problems, deficiencies, and bowel problems from a lack of fibre and bulk
26/06/2003 at 16:49
Colin, you've answered your own question. You said yourself you eat too much, cut back on the amount you eat, and eat a healthy, balanced, BALANCED, diet.
WildWill    pirate
26/06/2003 at 16:52