Eating right?

4 messages
19/02/2012 at 13:38
Hi All

I'm looking for some advice if possible. I have been running for around 4 years now and my annual pattern usually consists of starting around April - May and running up to 4 times per week until November when I stop for the winter.

As you'll guess my weight will go up during the winter months and I find in the Spring I struggle to do 1.5 mile without a break and feel as though I'm starting from scratch.

This year I have continued throughout the winter and even though its biting cold I am getting out 3 - 4 times per week.

My issue is (and the reason for this post) is that due to an injury which forced me to stop for a period over the summer I have found it harder than usual to lose weight.

My weight is around 20st and I'm 6ft 5in tall. I am very broad shouldered and although my weight is high I have a 38inch waist and don't look excessively over weight. I do however wish to shift some of my excess and would love to get around the 17st - 17.5 st mark.

To help with my training I am consciously keeping check on my Calorie intake which is usually around the 2500 - 2700 per day (which for my weight should in itself mean weight loss). My actual loss has been very slow however and I'm concerned that I may not be eating the right food types (Bread etc). My alcohol intake has also been reduced with me only having a few beers 1 night per week.

Can anyone offer any advice how I could accelerate my weight loss and in turn improve my running performance?

Thanks
19/02/2012 at 15:48

As far as weight loss is concerned there really are no 'right' and 'wrong' foods. Ultimately weight loss will come from an energy deficit. How are you measuring your calorie intake? 

If you are satisfied that you've got your diet under control (in terms of energy intake rather than the nitty gritty of actual foodstuffs) then the other thing to look at is activity.