Foot Pain

On top of the foot

12 messages
05/11/2003 at 08:13
I've seen articles on achiles pain and arches but I've developed pain on the top of my foot. It's swollen, tender to touch towards the joint of the big toe and keeps clicking (which is followed by pain). Anybody got any ideas as I'm still a novice in the running world.
05/11/2003 at 21:06
You could try loosening the laces right off on the sore foot. I have a recurring problem that sounds similar to yours-kind of swelling on top of foot which spreads down into toes before going away about a week later. It normally happens after 5 or 6 miles and is really sore to walk on the next day.
I think its caused by my foot swelling with the heat/effort etc and being constricted by tight shoes causing nerve damage. I now loosen of my left shoe across the bridge of my foot and it seems to have made a big difference. I think there is an article somewhere on this site about funny lacing tactics.
It may be this or could be something completely different but I hope it clears up as its a right bugger.
06/11/2003 at 08:37
Could be too much pressure on the big toe joint caused by the running. Don't need to give up tho! Just get thee to a podiatrist - orthotics may be in order.
06/11/2003 at 08:56
Thanks guys. Advice is very much appreciated. I've booked to see the Dr today (making use of my company's private healthcare). Will let you know the outcome.
16/01/2005 at 10:12
I have a similar problem that has come out of the blue with no warning and is so bad I have difficulty walking.

Tenacious Fox how did you get on?
16/01/2005 at 18:35