Numb foot

Numb foot

10 messages
16/01/2009 at 11:59

Hi all

I have recently started running and exercising again. I am a fitness instructor, but for the past year I've not done any exercise. I usually do spin, aerobics and other high impact stuff.

I decided to take up runnning a couple of weeks ago.

I can run problemfree untill about 25 - 30 into the run. Here the "funny" thing happens - my left foot goes numb. It's prickly and sorta stingy... like if you've been sitting lying on your arm sleeping during the night, you can wake up and it's sorta numb. The same happens to me but with my foot.

I've tried different shoes, loosening the shoes, tieing them tighter but nothing seems to help.

I can run with my foot numb it just takes all the joy away.

Is it a case of having to run it off? it sorta wears off after 10 mins of running, more or less, but it's just really annoying.

Any advise would be much appriciated.

thx

18/01/2009 at 11:59

Hi,

Have you changed your trainers recently?   I used to have this problem and after changing the way i lace up my trainers i don't have this problem anymore - do a search on the web for how to lace up your trainers...you could still be restricting the problem area of your foot which is causing the numbness.

Also are your trainers too small?  My trainers are a half size bigger to facilitate my foot as it warms up.

Hope this helps?

18/01/2009 at 12:56

Hi Christina

I was just gonna post the same question. My right foot goes numb,

its strange, i did 8 miles on wednesday with no problems, today i did 5 mile & it went numb after about 2.

Ive only been running a few month, after being lazy since running the 2000 flm. Perhaps with training, this problem will sort itself. I use elastic laces so overtight laces shouldnt be a problem.

Sorry this doesnt help you but your not alone with this one

18/01/2009 at 15:35