Peak Flow

...and inhalers

17 messages
Crash Hamster    pirate
01/09/2005 at 15:32
Need a medic's opinion on this, please.

(for those of you who don't know, I'm a dentist and have this sort of stuff lying round at work)
We've just been playing with a peak flow meter. My best (today and ever) is 550.

I then had a blast of a salbutamol inhaler. My best rose to 700. The other people that I work with had no change in their readings pre- and post- salbutamol.

Does this suggest that I'm mildly asthmatic? Would I benefit from using an inhaler before races?*

Disclaimer: playing with drugs is very silly. I understand a bit of pharmacology, which entitles me to do silly things. However, don't try this at home :o)

* and no, I'm not going to my GP and getting 'labelled' an 'asthmatic' 550 is normal range, thankyouplease, buut it's carp for an endurance athlete such as myself :o)
01/09/2005 at 16:02
Try it with the laughing gas and report back ;o)
01/09/2005 at 16:03
BTW, I'm going home to play with inhallers, are you proffesionally insured?
Crash Hamster    pirate
01/09/2005 at 16:04
As it <titter> I'd do <giggle> such a thing <guffaw LOL> PDW :o)
Crash Hamster    pirate
01/09/2005 at 18:01
...but it was a serious question...
01/09/2005 at 18:18
do some moring and evenig peak flowsmate
see if theres a variation
and repeat the salbutamol test
you could well be mildly astmatic-it might be the summer that is doig it
01/09/2005 at 18:28
Can't wait to get back to school now.

I'm going to have a shot on each child's medication, to see if it helps me improve, now!

Great idea, Crash!
01/09/2005 at 19:42
When I use an peak flow meter my best is around 550 all the time. It doesn't alter when I've taken my Ventolin. It does drop below that if I'm wheezy and the lowest I've been is 150 (hospitalised briefly to get is stabilised).
I find that this time of year my breathing is greatly affected by the harvest - dust in the air - and the heat.
02/09/2005 at 00:42